Online Security

At Watman & Worth we are extremely security conscious.

PCI DSS compliance was introduced due to the increasing threat of data theft. With millions of stolen customer card records, the card payment industry were forced to take action. To secure customer data and confidence, card payment companies joined forces to create the PCI DSS standard.

What is PCI DSS?

Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS) is a set of 12 comprehensive requirements designed to secure and protect customer payment account data. These rules need to be adhered to by all online merchants, and are constantly in review and as such can alter.

Who Needs to Comply?

All websites that offer the facility to accept payment via credit and charge cards are required to meet the latest Payment Card Industry and Payment Application Data Security Standards. These standards are requirements detailed in merchant account agreements, and there are no exceptions to the rules.

PCI DSS Official Site

PCI DSS Requirements are:

Build and Maintain a Secure Network

1: Install and maintain a firewall configuration to protect cardholder data

2: Do not use vendor-supplied defaults for system passwords and other security parameters

Protect Cardholder Data

3: Protect stored cardholder data

4: Encrypt transmission of cardholder data across open, public networks

Maintain a Vulnerability Management Program

5: Use and regularly update anti-virus software

6: Develop and maintain secure systems and applications

Implement Strong Access Control Measures

7: Restrict access to cardholder data by business need-to-know

8: Assign a unique ID to each person with computer access

9: Restrict physical access to cardholder data

Regularly Monitor and Test Networks

10: Track and monitor all access to network resources and cardholder data

11: Regularly test security systems and processes

Maintain an Information Security Policy

12: Maintain a policy that addresses information security